Weeks 25 & 26

Haha. I sense a trend in two weeks in one blog post forming. I shouldn’t do this though because as already mentioned, I have a shit memory.

Thursday the 22nd, my smallest class composed of two boys with the same name – the Daniels, drew me and my co-teacher on the board. Notice how I have a new name and no arms in the rendering on the left. That’s from a boy who I taught six months ago. He still remembers my full name and how to spell it… I worked at the same company for three years and people still couldn’t remember how to pronounce, let alone spell my last name. I guess that just goes to show that my nine year old student is more intelligent that those people?

Saturday, June 24th, not one, but two of my coworkers got married… and not to each other. It was a highly interesting experience as every wedding I’ve been to, with the exception of one, were all with the same cultural background. Korean weddings, from what was kindly explained to me by other co-workers, last at most three hours. There is a short ceremony and then a celebratory meal and then everyone goes on their way. When I shared how long receptions go on in the USA, one co-worker was appalled and said, “if that happened here, people would be so offended and burdened!”

The first wedding we all went to was for our co-worker Kathy. It was a very grand affair with four forks per place setting and I was so happy to remember my home economics training regarding these types of place settings. When we arrived, we went to the “bride’s room” and took pictures with Kathy. She looked gorgeous, as always. She had a western wedding dress for the first half of the ceremony and then changed into a hanbok – her husband also changed from a suit to hanbok. They had a western style meal with, what seemed like an endless supply of courses. Unfortunately, we had to leave before dessert to head to the next wedding. ☹️

I’m sure we were all a sight traveling on the subway in our wedding garb. We traveled for an hour and a half to the next venue. I was a creep and took photos of two my coworkers sleeping on the train. hahahahahahahahaha. It was a long journey and I had to keep entertained, okay? We arrived at the train station and were running through it, I’m still not entirely sure why we were running but it worked our in the end because we caught the last shuttle from the station to the venue. We arrived just as the ceremony ended and they were taking group photos with family and friends. I’m sure it looked bad as a foreigner collective showed up just after the ceremony was over but just in time to eat the meal. This wedding seemed more modest and comfortable. I didn’t have to think about which fork to use for what. The food was Korean and delicious. The couple, again, changed in to hanbok and thanked everyone for helping them celebrate their marriage.

I got curious about cruises and accidentally sorted them by highest price… and stumbled upon a $30,000 cruise that lasts for 134 days. ONE HUNDRED THIRTY FOUR days on a cruise boat floating around the world. I get irritated being away from my “home base” for more than three days, I can’t even imagine being on “vacation” for that long. Could you even call it that? Maybe if I were more monetarily inclined and didn’t have plans for the next, what, six months I’d do it… but that still seems too long.

My students got a hold of my phone and took this picture of me. I think it looks nice.

I swore for the first time in class on Thursday. In my defense, I almost shut and locked us in a room with a broken door handle. So as I caught myself automatically closing the door as class started, I said, “oh shiiiit,” rather loudly. My students were like 😮 “TEACHER! WHAT DID YOU SAY?!” and then started to chant, “oh shit! oh shit! oh shit!” It was really difficult for me to keep a straight face, tell them to stop, and apologize to them. After I apologized, they let it go…for a little bit. They also told me they wanted to call my mom and tell her I was being bad, but honestly my mom wouldn’t be shocked at all to hear of this. I’m just really proud of myself that it took ten months for this to happen. *pats self on back*

Friday my highest level class had to decide on a person to interview in their class and they chose me. It was was so hilarious because I made each student think of one question they wanted to ask me. They were mostly generic questions until we got to the only boy in the class who came up with: teacher do you like to exercise? I laughed and laughed at that and replied, “does it look like I enjoy exercising!?” and he was called out by the girls for being rude… I thought it was funny. His mind is very interesting because he tried to back peddle with, “teacher do you like food?” and the girls verbally attacked him again. Finally, he settled on – do you have a pet? The first question that was asked was, “how old are you?” and when I wrote the answer on the board everyone was so dramatic in their shocked reaction because my face is “젊은 얼굴” which they told me means young face. Shout out to my dad for giving me 젊은 얼굴!

Lately, it seems like the littlest accomplishments seem like the biggest victories to me. I figured out how to get an I-pin to verify my identity on the internet because Korean seems to like security protocols, which is in my best interest. I now have a point card that is usable at Baskin-Robbins so that’s an awesome thing that came from that. I also finally had to call my bank in the USA to let them know I can’t access my account because it wanted to send a confirmation text to my phone number that I no longer have and got it set up to send me a validation email instead. Woo-hoo being over 30 is so thrilling.

I finally got the results of my brother’s Ancestry DNA results back. And they probably the most underwhelming results ever. My mom did one of these tests a few months ago and both hers and my brother’s responses were identical – “well no surprises there.”

Until next week(s),

B

Leave a Reply

