Week 22, 2017

On Monday we got our schedules for the new term that starts on Thursday. There weren’t many surprises there for me… I also didn’t feel panicked this time; and frankly that’s concerning because there’s a lot to prep and I’m just over here like ¯\_(ツ)_/¯ whatevs, man.

The new foreign teacher arrived at school and I was tasked with showing him how to prepare and organize the materials for one of the levels he’s going to be teaching which coincidentally I will be teaching too.

Tuesday was the last day of spring term for our two day classes. I bought kids that got a perfect score on every speech a snack. I have a lot of the same students next term especially from my lowest level, the cutie babies. 👶🏻💜 My desk was an absolute disaster and I took a lot of my materials home to get prepared for the upcoming units.

Wednesday was the last day for four coworkers 😧! Two of the Korean teachers, one native English teacher, and a support staff all are moving on to different chapters in their lives. It was very nice getting to know them and sad to see them go. I was very proud because I did not cry! This was the last day of thee day classes and again, I bought kids that got a perfect score on every speech a snack. This time, it caused hard feelings and made one student extremely upset.

Thursday, as you may have guessed, was the first day of summer term for our two day classes. Everything’s a mess and I feel a bit off because of the change in routine, but otherwise it went great. I have a lot of repeat students so that was nice. It was a bit weird in the teacher’s room because our three coworkers are now gone and new ones have joined us. I kept looking over expecting to see Summer and she wasn’t there. ☹️ I wore a maxi dress to work, the first time ever wearing a dress to work, and I got so many compliments. I got upset though, because my dress got stuck in the wheels of my chair and now has holes in the back. My coworker told me to just put holes all over the bottom to make it look like it’s on purpose. I might just do that 🤔 I got many of my previous students from Winter term back. Some of them have grown so much physically and mentally in our three months apart.

One student that I’ve had every term since my arrival, Olivia, was “very sad” that I’m not her teacher this term.

Friday I had an awesomely terrible sinus headache so that made the day fun. It felt like my eyeballs were going to shrivel up and pop out of my head. It was the first day of summer term for three day classes and it went rather smoothly, I think. I was previously invited to go out after work but I felt so gross that I just wanted to go home and sleep. So I did.

I slept so long I slept through my alarm for Korean class and missed the final exam and party. I felt extremely refreshed when I woke up because I had taken an extra anti-histamine pill before bed. I did absolutely nothing on Saturday except walk down the street to buy milk so I could eat cereal.

Sunday I woke up with a headache again and pain in my ears ☹️ and did laundry. I also seem to have acquired four mosquito bites during my slumber. I will, no doubt be going back to the doctor on Monday morning.

Leave a Reply

