Week 18, 3017

Monday and Tuesday we had Children’s Day celebrations for our classes. Our campus had a Pokémon theme. We played bingo, stack the cups, had the students write cards for their parents, and did paper puzzles like mazes, and word finds. One of our classes on Tuesday gets an extra half hour of class so they got to play jeopardy. They also had “battles” against another class where they got to play games as a class. The kids seemed to really enjoy it. 

Wednesday was Buddha’s Birthday so I didn’t work! Thank you Buddha! It was hot enough for me to turn on the air con. It was 82 degrees  fahrenheit at noon today. I did extensive cleaning, garbage sorting, and laundry. Then I decided to go walk around the mall. 

While waiting for the bus to the mall, I saw a former coworker out of the corner of my eye. We used to hang out and haven’t talked for months. I found it amusing how much effort she was putting in to make sure I didn’t see or talk to her, or whatever the fuck she was trying to do. She sees me and stops dead in her tracks and starts taking selfies by a flowering bush next to the sidewalk, all while having her back to me but I can see her face on the phone screen. She moves into the bus stop area but still has her back to me, a very unnatural way to move. It just made her that more awkwardly obvious. Part of me really wanted to crush her obvious desire for avoidance but the other part of me was like, “nah, if I wanted to talk to you I would have before now.” So I just smirked at her awkwardness, got on the bus, and went about my business.

Thursday was back to work. It was so discombobulating. Because Friday is a holiday as well, there were hardly any students in attendance. My first class of the day only had two students of ten show up. For my next two classes, my co-teacher and I combined our classes and we played rock, scissor, paper to see who would teach first. 😂 It was quite a day. 

Friday was Children’s Day so again no work. I had plans to go to the arboretum with a friend but “something important came up…” while I don’t doubt this is a legit excuse, this is the second time this week it’s happened – it’s annoying. So I stayed home until the late afternoon because it was quite warm out. I took myself to the movies and dinner. I saw Guardians of the Galaxy 2. It was a good movie. It made me stop thinking about dumb shit for the duration of it so that’s good. 

Saturday we didn’t have Korean class but I met two of my classmates, Claudia and Shabrina, and we went to Dongdaemun Design Plaza for an exhibition on Pixar 30 Years of Animation. It was very awesome. We were there for three and a half hours! Then we took the train to Jamsil and walked around in the Lotte World Mall. It was a great day – I walked 9.1 km and didn’t get home almost 12 hours after leaving in the morning. 

Sunday I went to a multi room near Suwon Station. I played Wii for two hours. I’m hilariously bad at video games so it was a fun time. 

Until next week,

B

Leave a Reply

