Week 14, 2017

We started phone speaking this week. We have to call every student and ask them leveled conversation and speaking/reading questions for five minutes, after classes have ended. It makes the work week more hectic and rushed and everyone is so glad once it’s all over. I am a bit lucky because I don’t have to call the 36 students in the lowest level because that would just be disastrous. Buuut I do have 56 other students I have to call.

I got my eyebrows touched up last Friday and they’ve calmed down quite a bit since then, thankfully. They were embarrassingly too dark.

Wednesday I bought a ticket to the Hiphopplaya Festival in Seoul. I had been planning on going to this since February when I saw the tickets on a ticketing website but I had forgotten all about it and then I sent a majority of my money home so I wasn’t able to purchase a ticket and still pay bills and, you know, eat food. I was talking to my friend, 보라 , and she said I ~had~ to go. She sent me the money to buy the ticket!!! This was to be my birthday present. Ohmaigawd! Best birthday present in recent memory! So I ordered the ticket. I also asked my dad to take some money out of a savings account for me and put it in my American account so I could stay in Seoul and not have to worry about public transportation after the event.

Thursday I booked two nights at a hostel near Hapjeong Station in Seoul.

Friday my classes and phone speaking whizzed by and I was out the door, on the way to Seoul. I arrived at The Lazy Fox hostel shortly after 10:30 pm. I immediately took a shower because after taking a bus and two different trains, I was a sweaty mess. After, I went to the common room to chill and meet the others staying there. They were, of course, already several shots into soju. A majority of them decided to go out in Hongdae but I knew I had a full day ahead so I stayed behind.

Saturday came and I was nauseously excited. I got all my stuff and set out on my journey. I knew there was a shuttle bus but I couldn’t figure out where it picked people up at and I was too lazy to look into the matter further so I just took a taxi.

img_0960

The first set was Hash Swan, 김효은, and Changmo. I’m a bit sad I didn’t get more video of Hash Swan…

Changmo

The second set was Rhythm Power

After these first two sets, I got tired of being shoved and left the festival to get water because I was not about to pay music festival prices for bottled water…on the way back I saw this gem:

That is a little boy who doesn’t give a shit about anything and decided he’d had enough of skateboarding, plopped down on the ramp, and took a rest. I can relate to him.

After I reentered the venue, I claimed a plot in the picnic area and may have fallen asleep at some point. This was a great place to people watch though! I had a view of a man who was intoxicated beyond comprehension that was just feeling the vibes of the music.

I didn’t go back to the standing/shoving area until Jay Park and Loco came back on… by then it was dark and had gotten chilly so I was in need of the collective warmth.​

​ Jay Park, of course, did the ever predictable 몸매 where he takes off his shirt, shakes his ass, and does body rolls; but I’m not complaining – this is my second time seeing it in concert…

I left during the last set and caught the shuttle bus back to the subway and then to the hostel where a majority were planning on going to noraebang. I tagged along. It just added to the fun of my super long day.

The thing about staying at hostels is – you have to deal with other people’s bullshit. I stayed in a room with three sets of bunk beds. One of the girls kept ignoring her alarm so it would go off and automatically go to snooze. By the third time this happened at 4:30 in the morning, I swung down from the top bunk and screamed in her face that she should either get the fuck up or I was going to result to violently turning her alarm off for her. Another girl had the WORST body odor I have smelled in a long time. Also, when she took her shoes off at noraebang her feet were so rank… I semi-enjoy being able to pay $29 USD for two nights of sleeping in a tiny ass cot but that was just too much for me.

My olfactory glands had not yet recovered when, I boarded the train to come back home this morning I was again assaulted with b.o., poo, and feet smell. At first, I thought it was an old lady then I realized the train car was damn near empty further down. There was a homeless man passed out with his shoes off. He looked super dirty and had chunks of ??? idek in his hair. I had to put on my face mask to hide the fact that I was gagging. I did, in fact, throw up in my mouth on one occasion. Luckily, someone complained and the conductor came, woke the dude up, and got him off the train. Ooh did that smell linger though.

I made it home, got brunch, put some laundry in the washing machine, and took a two hour nap.

Leave a Reply

