Weeks 5 & 6, 2017

Uhh… *scratches head* not a whole lot happened in the past two weeks. We went back to “normal” work hours.

My student, Daniel, likes to make jokes about me in class. He wrote this in his book:

My student, Cathy, drew me after she finished a test. See Mom, I wear the shirt you got me… I kind of have proof.

Suwon is hosting the U20 Soccer World Cup this May and they are pretty proud of it.

Last Saturday, I met up with a stranger from the internet to go to noraebang (karaoke) from an app called meetup. I’m a horrible singer and can only sing Disney songs so that’s what I stuck to. The dude stranger though… was an excellent singer. He also turned out to be exceptionally creepy/needy/annoying and kept alluding to coming over to my house. Thanks, but no thanks. *shudders*


If you know me, you know I’m not really a planner. I’m more of a last minute kind of gal. I bought this book to help with that. I don’t really have anywhere in this hemisphere I really feel like I need to go –  so maybe if I educate myself, that will change.

Friday my coworker helped me get a ticket to a concert the following day. There was some stipulation, to buy a foreigner ticket I had to have an international credit card… well, I don’t have one of those and only use Korean cards. So she helped me and after what felt like forever I got a ticket confirmation! I was so excited I felt like I was high.


So yesterday I went to the concert. I swear it took years to get there. I made friends with a little girl on the train who was sitting next to me. She kept tapping my arm and smiling at me. She pointed to my hair and I tilted my head so she could touch it. I finally get to the stop I need and I take the exit that was listed… but I have no idea what direction to go in. The concert was held in Olympic Park where the 1988 Olympics were held. Because I had no clue where I was supposed to be going and had time to kill, I wandered around a bit. I finally got worried and stopped a kind looking man to ask where I should be going and he didn’t know either. Haha! So I just kept walking and saw a bike rental place and asked the lady that was running it. She was very helpful.

I got to where I needed to be but there was an hour before the ticket booth opened for me to pick up my ticket. I looked around and bought some extremely overpriced merchandise. I assume they were doing a final soundcheck/test before the concert because the ground was shaking when I got there and you could hear the glass on the building rumbling from all the bass. I was convinced I was going to go deaf before I even got inside the building.


The ticket hut finally opened and then it was time to queue up in accordance to your section and ticket number. I was very impressed with the orderly queuing. I was also equally impressed with the women who were wearing mini skirts because I was wearing jeans and a down coat and I felt like I was going to die. We finally were allowed inside and I was super close to the stage! Aaah!

Technically, you weren’t supposed to take pictures but who follows rules like that? The security dudes were going their best to stop people but, pffft, that obviously didn’t work. We stood there for about an hour before the show started. Ohmaigawd it was so good.


And then after three hours it was over. ☹️😭 so I made my way out and found a taxi to take me home because I didn’t really want to take the bus and it’s a good thing I hadn’t eaten for nine hours or I would have probably thrown up, he was such a crazy driver. Unless you count magic, there is no way I should have gotten home as fast as I did… and that’s after he dropped off the two other girls I was sharing the taxi with.

 

Later, Hannah messaged me to ask me how the concert was… this is our conversation… lol

Today I didn’t really do anything special. Woke up. Cleaned entire micro apartment. Took out the recycling. Went to Suwon Station to eat and walk around. Came home.

Leave a Reply

