The week my cat died.

This past week has been spent preparing for the new term at school. This also brought the departure of a coworker and the arrival of a new one. I’m no longer the “new” one, so that feels a bit unreal.

Tuesday we were told to come in early for a meeting which was implied that we would go over schedules for the new term. We all get there and there is a new director for our school! I had heard rumors about getting a new director but I didn’t really give it much credence. As with any management change, there are already changes in procedures and it’ll be interesting to see how it all pans out. And if any of these changes would influence me to stay here by extending my contract or not. Now that Sean and I have to have our desks in the directors room as of last Friday it makes me a bit more nervous than it did initially.

Wednesday I felt off and sad for no particular reason. After work I went home and just sat in my bed in the dark. I had a weird feeling that I should call my parents house knowing full well that they were at work. So I messaged my mom to ask about adding something to the box of clothes I ordered and had sent to their house. She responded that I should call their house because my dad was home sick. I called at around 1 am my time and I was informed that my cat, Emily, had passed away. After we talked about some other news, I hung up and cried until 3 am. I woke up again at 7:30 crying.  I don’t know which would have been worse, feeling guilty that I’ve been away from her in last three months of life or knowing that if she were living with me when she died I’d be even more of a wreck. Rest In Peace Emily 1995 – 2016. The last 21 years wouldn’t have been as good without your cuddles and company 💔😞

Thursday was the start of the new term and I had a bit of an anxiety attack when I got to work because my computer background is a picture of Emily’s cute dumb face. I was trying to quickly to change it to something else and was just getting more irritated. I was telling Sean about my cat dying and was crying – all while the new director is looking at me probably like, “what is wrong with this mess?” Sean was kind enough to tell her for me while I sobbed. Then I went to get something from the copy room and I ran into the foreign head teacher, Andrea, and she asked me if I was okay and I lost it and made the ugliest crying faces I’ve ever made. I am the world’s ugliest crier so that was probably a joy to see. Other than a couple tears leaking out, I think those are the only two times I cried at work, thank God.

My classes this term seem like they’ll be good. My classes are significantly smaller on Tuesday/Thursdays which I don’t mind at all. I feel it makes it easier to get things done and focus on extra things if needed. The classes on Monday/Wednesday/Friday are bigger but are older students for the most part. I had a new student on Friday who wanted to make an English name and I was caught so off  guard by that. I was not prepared to name this child! I asked the class for suggestions, added some of my own, and had her pick because she didn’t have a name in mind.

I had to work yesterday for “Open Class.” When prospective students come to our school and check it out – we give them an overview of what classes would be like and gauge their abilities. My experience was unique as there were only two students scheduled and only one showed up. The past two weekends, they’ve had open class as well and they had over ten kids both times.

After open class I walked around and then came back for a nap. Later in the evening, I met up with Sean, Brittany, and Nick and we went to Jamsil-dong in Seoul. Sean has a friend, Tim, who lives there from his previous teaching job; he and his girlfriend were kind enough to host us all for a movie night. We were supposed to meet up with Elizabeth at the subway station but it seems that some miscommunication happened and Elizabeth was at the incorrect station and decided to go home as she had been in Seoul all day. We watched Popstar, which I didn’t really have any desire to see but it was really funny and I enjoyed it a lot. Then we moved on to the The Good Guys, I was having a great time until my stomach started to get crampy and angry and that movie seemed like it was going to go on foreverrrrrr. Everyone else wanted to go a bar and I was going to catch a cab and go back home because I was not feeling well. Our gracious hosts gave me some tummy meds, got me a blanket, and let me stay at their apartment until they came back from the bar so I could split the cost of the cab fare with the others.

Leave a Reply

