Yes, I am a crazy cat person.

Lately I’ve been thinking about some weird things I didn’t think I would but I will undoubtedly miss while I’m in South Korea for a year and some things I won’t miss too much.

Things on the list I’ll miss:

  • My friends 😥
  • The excitement in my friend’s children’s voices when I go over to their house
  • Hay bales randomly plopped in fields along the highway
  • Miles of green seas of corn and soybeans
  • Iowa sweet corn
  • Seeing the giant tractors at the Farm Implement store on the way to my house
  • Culver’s ButterBurgers
  • My family, probably

Mostly, what I know I’ll miss is my kitty Emily.

Emmy Face

Seriously though, for those of you who don’t know, this cat is 21 years old. I’ve had her the majority of my life and she’s been there with me through all of my journeys to date with an exception of the four years I lived in Minnesota; two with my aunt and the two years went to Winona State University.

Mom and I took Emily in to the veterinarian this past Thursday and made me cry because I realized that I might not be able to be with my kitty for the final year(s) and adventure(s) of her long, healthy life. 😦 I’m glad that she has a home with my parents who will be caring for her while I’m away but I just wish she could come with me so I can snuggle her in the twilight of her life.

Leave a Reply

